As indicated previously — there are four relationships on V-TIP. Relationships bestow permissions between members. Users in a very restrictive relationship have very few permissions. Users in a very open relationship have the fewest restrictions.
All members of V-TIP are in a relationship with one another. That relationship is undefined and very restrictive.
When first attempting to create a relationship with another member (what is known as “friending”), one member (the sender) must send a friend request to another (the recipient). The recipient sets the relationship*. Until that time both members relationship are “Don’t Know” for obvious reasons (see “The Don’t Know relationship”).
Friend requests expire. Members who do not upgrade a friend request before it expires (which can be adjusted in the friends list preferences section) the user will be removed from the friends list.
The friending process is simple.
Locate a friend by visiting the member page.
In the upper right corner, click the friend request button.
A box with three options will open
It asks if you want to send a message with your friend request (this is helpful if you wish to introduce yourself to a stranger).
- If you click YES a box will open where you can enter a message. Enter the message and hit OK or Cancel.
- If you hit NO a friend request will be sent without a message.
- If you hit CANCEL the box will close and no request will be sent.
Both “friends” will appear on each others friends list in a relationship “Don’t Know”. This relationship can be removed at any time by clicking the delete button across from the circled “Don’t Know”. As previously mentioned, the request (and relationship) will expire if not upgraded by the receiver.
Note the difference between the Sender’s friends list from the Receivers friends list.
Next to the delete button is the modify button. Clicking the modify button can upgrade or downgrade a relationship at anytime.
Members receiving the friend request will be notified in one of several ways:
- Friends List Page – when there are pending friend requests, a pop up will appear when visiting the friends list page.
- A notification will appear in the header in the upper right corner
- A new mail will appear in the inbox as indicated below
The friend request itself is a mail message sent internally through V-TIP.COM.
The receiver will click on the mail and view the request.
View the hierarchy and the permissions that come with each relationship.
Choose your relationship wisely. Click the Accept button. Hit save.
If you hit Accept or Reject, the recipient will be notified via mail and message. The relationship will either be removed from both friends lists or added with the new relationship.
Below is the accepted new relationship between two members who are in a relationship “fan”.
That’s it! Now these two members can begin sharing and communicating based on the permissions allowed by the fan relationship. See each relationship to learn more about permissions.